THE NINTH CIRCLE by Brendan Deneen

Posted on

Permuted Press - THE NINTH CIRCLE, Deneen - Cover
Brendan Deneen
Permuted Press
Publication Date: January 2014
Trade Paperback ISBN: 9781618681904
E-Book ISBN: 9781618681911

THE NINTH CIRCLE is the debut dark fantasy/horror novel set in a creepy travelling circus written by Brendan Deneen.

About Brendan Deneen
After a successful career in the film industry, Brendan Deneen joined Macmillan Entertainment, where he’s edited a string of popular titles including The Walking Dead novels by Robert Kirkman. Deneen is also the author of several comic book series, including Flash Gordon, Casper the Friendly Ghost, the critically acclaimed Scatterbrain series, as well as the graphic novel Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer: The Island of Misfit Toys. He also has film and TV projects in development at MGM, Legendary Pictures, The Weinstein Company, and others. Deneen was named to the Studio System News “Hottest Book Film Dealmakers to Watch” list, and you can check out his recent interview with MediaBistro here.

Inspired by Dante’s Inferno and drawing on works like The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and Geek Love by Katherine Dunn, THE NINTH CIRCLE follows the adventures of Dan, a 16-year-old runaway, as he travels with a circus through nine states. The Ringmaster guides Dan through this magical world, and soon Dan has fallen deeply in love with the circus life…and with the Bearded Lady. But the circus is full of mysteries. Many performers boast strange talents, and one harbors a secret that could destroy the circus forever.

Read the first few chapters of THE NINTH CIRCLE over on And watch THE NINTH CIRCLE’s spine-tingling book trailer here.

Cover Reveal
Check out Entertainment Weekly‘s exclusive cover reveal of THE NINTH CIRCLE in their book news and review section, Shelf Life, here.

Visit Brendan Deneen’s Facebook Page
Visit Brendan Deneen’s Twitter Account

*For review copies or interview opportunities, please contact me at grossman.stephaniem (at)*


A Series of Novellas by Thomas Steinbeck

Posted on Updated on

Cabbages-and-Kings-700x1024doctor-greenlaw-and-the-zulu-princess-steinbeck-coverMRS. PENNGELLI AND THE PIRATE - Cover

Thomas Steinbeck
Post Hill Press

From the son of Nobel Laureate John Steinbeck comes three e-novellas that are being published successively, with CABBAGES AND KINGS (ISBN 9781618689832) in October 2013, DR. GREENLAW AND THE ZULU PRINCESS (ISBN 9781618689849) in November 2013, and MRS. PENNGELLI AND THE PIRATE (ISBN 9781618689856) in December 2013. A hardcover omnibus edition is to follow in January 2014.

About Thomas Steinbeck

A California native, Thomas Steinbeck is the author of the short story collection Down to a Soundless Sea (Ballantine 2002) and the novels In the Shadow of the Cypress (Simon & Schuster 2010) and The Silver Lotus (Counterpoint 2011).  Along with his writing career, Steinbeck is a public speaker and lecturer on American literature, creative writing, and the communication arts and their benefits to contemporary society. He serves as an honorary board member at the Stella Adler Theatre in Hollywood, the Center for Steinbeck Studies at San Jose State University, and the National Steinbeck Center in Salinas, California.

Visit Thomas Steinbeck’s Personal Website
Thomas Steinbeck on the Secret to Writing

*For review copies or interview opportunities, please contact me at grossman.stephaniem (at)*